GOLD & SUSTAINABILITY

 Gold and sustainability are two topics that can be combined perfectly. The latter is not a trend but a matter of course when talking about KUCK’s philosophy. We’re making a positive contribution to environmental protection and, at this point, to education when taking a look at sustainability. On the one hand, we would like to elaborate on this particular topic in greater  detail and, on the other hand, we would like to highlight some facts to generate a better understanding of the word ‘fine gold’

In our goldsmith new inspirations and designs are brought to life. A centuries-long German manufactory tradition is the basis of all high jewelery and thus an essential part of KUCK. In cooperation with traditional German manufactories from the ‘gold town’ of Pforzheim, artisanal luxury products are created. Our jewelry is made exclusively from fair-traded and certified gold. To live up to our social responsibility and protect the environment, we source our gold exclusively from gold suppliers who are certified members of the Responsible Jewelery Council (RJC). The gold used is thus demonstrably not from conflict regions of the world.

 At KUCK the ominous number 999.9 keeps appearing – fine gold is what is known as pure gold. The purity of the gold is 999.9 out of 1,000 possible shares or even 99.99%. It is one of the purest and most valuable fine metals. Historically, the purity of gold is also given in carats (‘k’ / ‘kt’). The name 24kt is the name of fine gold with a fineness of 99.99%. A special side effect: the gold flatters in a really warm color. In comparison, jewelry made of 18kt gold only consists of only 75% gold. The remaining 25% are other foreign metals.

The amount of gold used in every single piece of jewelry revealed by the stamp. Jewelry is coined in with this particular information. Here, the gold content is not given in carats, but converted to the metric system in per thousand. So the number 999 stands for 24 karat gold. At KUCK, the goldsmith expertly crafts every gem with surgical precision in the form of casting, soldering, filing, gripping and polishing. The starting precious metal is a 999 gold ingot. Pure gold in 24 carat is often said to be too soft to make a timeless and dimensionally resistant piece of jewelry. KUCK shows that it can be achieved with the perfect design and outstanding goldsmithing art.

GOLD & NACHHALTIGKEIT

Gold und Nachhaltigkeit gehen bei uns Hand in Hand, sodass letzteres für uns kein Trend sondern eine Selbstverständlichkeit darstellt. KUCK leistet somit einen positiven Beitrag zum Umweltschutz und an dieser Stelle zur Aufklärung. Zum Einen möchten wir gerne das Thema „Nachhaltigkeit“ etwas detaillierter ausführen und zum Anderen der Bedeutung von Feingold auf den Grund gehen.

In unserer Goldschmiede wird neuen Inspirationen und Entwürfen Leben eingehaucht.  Eine jahrhundertlange deutsche Manufaktur Tradition ist Basis aller hohen Juwelierskunst und damit ein essentieller Bestandteil von KUCK. In Zusammenarbeit mit deutschen Traditionsmanufakturen aus der Goldstadt Pforzheim entstehend somit handwerkliche Luxusprodukte. Unser Schmuck wird ausschließlich aus fair-gefördertem und zertifiziertem Gold hergestellt. Um unserer gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung und dem Schutz der Umwelt gerecht zu werden, beziehen wir unser Gold ausschließlich von Goldlieferanten, die zertifiziertes Mitglied des Responsible Jewellery Council (RJC) sind. Das eingesetzte Gold stammt somit nachweislich nicht aus Konfliktregionen dieser Welt.

Bei KUCK taucht immer wieder die ominöse Zahl 999,9 auf – Feingold ist das, was man als pures Gold bezeichnet.

Die Reinheit des Goldes beträgt 999,9 von 1.000 möglichen Anteilen oder auch 99,99%. Es ist eines der reinsten und wertvollsten Feinmetalle. Die Reinheit von Gold wird zudem geschichtlich in Karat (‚k‘/‚kt‘) angegeben. Die Bezeichnung 24kt ist die Bezeichnung für Feingold mit einer Feinheit von 99,99%. Ein besonderer Nebeneffekt: Das Gold schmeichelt in einem warmen Farbton. Dazu im Vergleich besteht Schmuck aus 18kt Gold auch nur aus 75% Gold. Die restlichen 25% sind andere Fremdmetalle.

Was an Gold in einem Schmuckstück tatsächlich steckt, verrät der Stempel, der in das edle Schmuckstück geprägt wurde. Hier wird der Goldgehalt nicht in Karat angegeben, sondern nach dem metrischen System in Promille umgerechnet. So steht die Zahl 999 für 24 Karat Gold, also pures Gold. Bei KUCK bearbeitet der Goldschmiedemeister mit chirurgischer Präzision in Form von gießen, löten, feilen, fassen und polieren fachmännisch jedes Kleinod. Dabei ist das Ausgangsedelmetall ein 999er Goldbarren. Purem Gold in 24 Karat wird oftmals nachgesagt, zu weich zu sein, um daraus ein zeitbeständiges und formstabiles Schmuckstück zu fertigen.
Die Schmuckstücke von KUCK zeigen, dass dieses mit formvollendetem Design und hoher Goldschmiedekunst gelingen kann.

x